Free Access to Commercial Databases![]() Books are databases, too! brought to you by the Jackson County Public Library. Some databases require Indiana residency and/or a JCPL library barcode.
BookLetters Reader Advisory with access to online book discussions, the hottest new titles and authors, professional reviews of the titles you want to know about, and more
Heritage Quest Online genealogical resource with access to US census schedules and some indexes from 1790 through 1930; thousands of full-text family and local history books; PERSI index to nearly 2 million genealogy and local history articles; and Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records
from Thomson Gale includes forms drafted by attorneys for business, personal, real estate and general use on hundreds of legal subjects and issues, and for Indiana and Federal use.
reliable, verifiable, quantifiable, accurate information on current events, consumer issues, science, business, health, notable people, hobbies, and much more, funded through the Indiana General Assembly; requires proof of Indiana residency
practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students and lifelong learners succeed on academic or licensing tests they must pass; includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an analysis of individual results
downloadable audio books
directory to more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents; details about company executives and companies, SEC filings, and residential addresses
For other useful databases, view the web pages at right.
Search Engines offer a wide variety of search possibilities for finding information
Google has speciality searches, including book content, in addition to a general search.
Webcrawler is an alternate search engine.
Search Engine Showdown has news & reviews about search engines, including specialty searches, and discusses search strategies.
|
Other Useful Resources:
Databases
|
August 2007

